General Synod 2012
General Synod 2012:








Media Centre



Previous Synods:

Please choose a year:

Thursday Timetable

Thursday – Provisional Timetable(subject to alteration)
10.00am – 1.00pm

  • President takes the chair
  • Reading from Holy Scripture and Prayer
  • List of members of the General Synod to be laid on the table
  • Nomination of an assessor by the President
  • President’s Address   
  • Welcome official Guests            
  • Motion No 1 (Timetable)
  • Formal business and communications
  • Report of the Bills Committee
  • Bill Nos 1 to 9

2.00pm – 6.30pm

  • Answers to requests for information (if any) (SO 51)
  • Presentation by Mr Terry Forsyth of the CI Clergy Pensions Trustee Ltd (45 minutes)
  • Bill No 10
  • Bills Nos 1 to 9 (continued)
  • Report of the Standing Committee (not more than 2 hours 45 minutes inclusive of related motions)
  • Motion No 2 (Amendment to Constitution of the Standing Committee – Email addresses and telephone numbers)
  • Motion No 3 (Amendment to Constitution of the Standing Committee – Email)
  • Motion No 4 (Select Committee on Human Sexuality in the Context of Christian Belief)
  • Motion No 5 (Terms of Reference for Church in Society Commission)
  • Motion No 6 (IF Campaign)
  • Motion No 7 (Taxation and Development)
  • Motion No 8 (Clergy Code of Duty and Conduct Committee)
  • Motion No 9 (Diversity and Participation in Diocesan and Church Decision Making)
  • Motion No 10 (Hard Gospel – Sectarian Division)
  • Motion No 11 (Social and Economic Change)

If business listed for any period is completed before the hour appointed, reports listed for Saturday afternoon will be taken in reverse order, commencing with the Commission for Christian Unity and Dialogue. References in this motion to a “report” shall include any resolutions accompanying such report on the agenda paper.